Make your own free website on

The Union of South Africa came into being in 1910 with a special stamp to mark the occasion, bearing a portrait of King George V, surmounted by an Imperial Crown, and in the corners, the Arms of the 4 Provinces of the Union.

George V
First royal philatelist


One of the most valuable Union stamps  - Primarily used for the posting of valuable gold essays

Watermark of 1910 item: Multiple Rosettes Watermark on set of 15 "King's Heads": Springbok Head (A Gazelle) Designed by H. Wilkinson Recess printed by
De La Rue & Co.

Comb perforation
Approx. 14

Index Page

Next page